Follow Africa in Rio 2016 (13 & 14)









BMX (Bicycle Motocross) began to take off in the late 1960s in California, around the time that motocross became popular in the USA. The sport was integrated into the organisational framework of the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI) in 1993. Fifteen years later, BMX racing made its first appearance on the Olympic programme at the Beijing 2008 Games.

Competition format
Riders launch themselves from an eight-metre high start ramp and race over a track comprising banked corners and obstacles such as jumps alternating with short pedalling sections. The event will start with an individual time trial run, with each rider racing the track once to determine the seeding for the next phase of competition. From the quarter-finals onwards, heats of eight riders will set off in a bid to get to the finish line first.

In Olympic BMX Centre, Deodoro Olympic Park, the BMX Olympic competitions take place and hereinafter the start list and results.



CBM001_Results BMX men-page-001


CBM001_StartList BMX men-page-001


CBW001_Results  BMX women-page-001


CBW001_StartList BMX women-page-001


Follow Africa in Rio 2016 (14)

Mountain bike developed in northern California during the 1970s when cyclists began to fit out their bicycles with wider tyres, rapid-shift gears and ground-breaking suspension components. From its low-key beginnings, the sport quickly spread around the world. Cross-country mountain bike made its Olympic debut at the Atlanta 1996 Games.

Competition format
The mountain bike events for both men and women are mass start events. Riders are seeded into a starting grid according to their current UCI ranking. They complete one start loop, followed by a specified number of laps of the course. The winner is the first to cross the finish line.

Venue Facts‬
In Deodoro Olympic Park, Mountain Bike competitions take place.
165m D+/lap
Women’s competition consist of 6 laps, while Men’s competition consist of 7 laps



CMM021_StartList - MTB men-page-001

CMW021_Results - MTB women-page-001

CMW021_StartList - MTB women-page-001

The African Continental Road Championships 2018 Details
The African Continental Road Championships 2018 Details about rules approved by CAC , accommodation and general information.    <...

UCI wins 2017 Creative Sports Award
    It has been announced that the UCI (Union Cycliste Internationale) is among the winners of the 2017 H.H. Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Creative Sp...
Happy New Year Cycling Family

Clarifications from the UCI concerning anti-doping proceedings
    Clarifications from the UCI concerning anti-doping proceedings   ...